Rebel With A Cause – It Begins

2 Aug

Hello All –

Well, here it is. For those of you who have been reading my snarky blog, My Own Adventure, about my adventures in reinventing myself, I thank you.  I’d love it if you keep reading.  But, as  Monty Python might say, and now for something completely different.

Some of you have read about my adventures in applying for food stamps, attempts at obtaining the elusive mortgage modification, trying to find a job (and not the 5 I was doing), or simply trying to survive.  Although I have accomplished these things and have more adventures to come, it’s no time to think about others.

You see, my life has definitely changed from what it was seven months ago.  And while I am in credibly grateful, I have not forgotten where I was and those who helped me.  The fact that others are still in dire straights does not escape me for one minute.  So here’s the project:

I will be driving from Arizona to Florida later this month to rejoin the cruise ship I now work on.  I will be doing a writing project along the way.  My plan – to meet people who are experiencing their own challenges.  Whether it’s due to the economy, health issues, family challenges or simply bad luck, many are still struggling.  I will find them through job fairs, food kitchens, connections or just by chance and tell their stories.

This is where you come in. I need you to read the stories and vote.  Yes, my friends, you will decide who I give $1,000 to.  I ask that you share this website with others.  Post it to Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter or simply E-mail it.  Let’s start a revaluation of appreciation.

Am I rich? Not in the slightest (at least monetarily).  However, my cup runneth over when it comes to gratitude.  You see, many people surprised me when things were tough.  I was blown away by the quiet generosity and caring which came in some unexpected ways (you know who you are).  So this is me, paying it forward.

So read, share, subscribe and vote.  It costs you nothing.  Please stay tuned for more info. to come in the next couple of weeks.

6 Responses to “Rebel With A Cause – It Begins”

  1. Brian Kurth August 4, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

    Wonderfully inspirational, Carole. Cheering you on from Portland….

    • Carole B. Rosenblat August 14, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

      Brian – Thanks for the kind words and encouragement. And thanks to Vocation Vacations for helping to spread the word!

  2. Steven August 9, 2011 at 9:41 am #

    Good for you, Carole! Good luck on your journey!

  3. Shaunah October 1, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    Hi Carole…. Just reading a few posts I missed…. I saw something about voting a few weeks ago but have not seen anything since. Did I miss it? Shaunah

    • Carole B. Rosenblat October 1, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

      Hi Shaunah – Voting will be announced (hopefully) tomorrow. Stand by – and keep reading.

Leave a Reply

