This Time I’m Asking for Your Help

31 Mar

I hope you enjoyed reading about the Masonic Temple and the Spirit of Newfoundland’s effort to preserve the historic building. I’ve received great feedback about the stories on www.DropMeAnywhere.com as well as the profile on www.Rebel-With-A-Cause.org. The feedback has been so encouraging that I’ve decided there’s a book in this. And writing a book is exactly what I plan to do. But I’ll need your help.

I’m announcing my Kickstarter campaign to assist with the funding of this book. You’ll note that I said “assist with the funding” as I’ve already spent money on the project and will continue to spend more. But just as the website is a partnership between me and the readers, the book will also be a partnership.

On each Drop Me Anywhere trip I find a local project or organization to spend a day, or part of a day volunteering with. I then profile them on Rebel-With-A-Cause.org and let you know more about what they do, who they help and how you can get involved. They’ll also have their stories in the book.

As you may know, Rebel-With-A Cause began with my wish to help others who were struggling. My hope was to not only give them money, but to give them a voice. I connected Rebel and Drop Me Anywhere with that same hope of giving those people and organizations a voice.

The writing of this book is different than so many others. I can’t go to a day job and come home at night to research and write. I believe in this book, but cannot finance it on my own. While I do some writing on the side for some corporate clients and news media, the pay is not enough to finance this book. I’ve worked really hard these last few years and saved money. Still, this will cost more than my savings will allow.

I’m passionate about donating my time and money to worthy causes. It’s difficult for me to ask for it but, this time, I’m asking you to consider my cause. It will not only help me to complete the book and get it published, but it will help me continue to help others.

If you’ve not already done so, you can read more about the project on the Drop Me Anywhere announcement post here on Rebel-With-A-Cause and on the Drop Me Anywhere About page. You can also read the posts from the first Drop Me Anywhere trip beginning with Oh Canada. And, of course, make sure you vote on my next trip.

I hope you’ll consider pledging to the Drop Me Anywhere Kickstarter campaign. I’m offering some great rewards. While I had hoped for some of the rewards to include volunteering for your chosen charity, Kickstarter doesn’t allow this. All I can say is that Drop Me Anywhere will continue to have a philanthropic element with me volunteering on each trip and profiling the projects and organizations.

Please share the Kickstarter campaign with others. It ends on May 1 and, if I don’t reach the goal by then, I receive none of the funding. This time, you get to make a difference.

 

 

2 Responses to “This Time I’m Asking for Your Help”

  1. Rhonda Pilzer April 1, 2014 at 1:23 pm #

    you go girl! very proud of you and hope you have FUN and much success w/this endeavor! love and miss ya… xo

    ________________________________

    • Drop Me Anywhere April 1, 2014 at 1:28 pm #

      Thank you! It’s very scary and a lot of work but I believe in it.

Leave a Reply

